Athra Alliance unveils electoral program and candidates for 2023 governorate council elections in Iraq

BAGHDEDE, Iraq — The Athra Alliance hosted a public symposium in the Nineveh Plains town of Baghdede (Qaraqosh / Hamdaniya), Iraq, to present its electoral program and introduce candidates for the upcoming 2023 governorate council elections. This introductory event garnered the attendance of clerics, government officials, heads and representatives of Chaldean–Syriac–Assyrian political parties and organizations, and a substantial number of residents from Nineveh Plains.

The Athra Alliance, officially established on 3 August 2022, is a joint political bloc formed by five Chaldea–Syriac–Assyrian political parties — Bethnahrin Patriotic Union (Huyodo Bethnahrin Athroyo, HBA), the Assyrian Patriotic Party, Abnaa al-Nahrain, the Assyrian Democratic Movement (Zowaa), and the Chaldean–Syriac–Assyrian Popular Council.

Commencing with a solemn minute of silence in commemoration of the martyrs of the Chaldean–Syriac–Assyrian people, including those lost in the Baghdede wedding fire tragedy, the symposium concluded with the playing of the Iraqi national anthem in both Arabic and Syriac.

Party leaders and representatives then took the floor to introduce the Athra Alliance’s electoral program, answering questions from attendees. Mr. Youssef Yacoub Matti, Chairman of the HBA, presented the electoral program.

Candidates for the provincial council elections shared insights into their backgrounds, urging the community to vote for them to secure their national and patriotic rights. Emphasizing their commitment to the land of their ancestors and the collective destiny of the Chaldean–Syriac–Assyrian people in Iraq, the candidates highlighted the unity of their people and their determination to shape the future for generations to come.

The three candidates representing the Athra Alliance in the provincial council elections were announced as:

  • Kirkuk Governorate Candidate: Walentina William Youssef — No. 140
  • Baghdad Governorate Candidate: Sharara Yusuf Ishaq — No. 182
  • Nineveh Governorate Candidate: Ma’rib Imad Elias Hanno — No. 132